IBU – Institut Bauen und Umwelt e.V.

IBU – Institut Bauen und Umwelt e.V. 2018-01-29T13:11:54+00:00

The Institut Bauen und Umwelt e. V. (IBU): An Advocate for Sustainable Building

The construction industry is dedicated to sustainable development, the essence of which is the preservation of human life and nature for future generations. Sustainability in the building sector means mastering ecological challenges while taking into account economic and social aspects. Many construction industry stakeholders who have this voluntarily taken on this responsibility are building product manufacturers and members of the Institut Bauen und Umwelt e. V. — the IBU.

Its more than 200 companies and associations make the IBU the largest association of building material manufacturers, and it has devoted itself to the concept of sustainable construction. The IBU operates a cross-sector, independent information system for construction products and building components and ensures that ecological aspects are able to be incorporated into the sustainability assessment of buildings. This does not include product evaluation. The IBU is one of the leading programme operators worldwide for construction industry environmental product declarations (EPDs) and is Europe’s leading organisation for building product declarations that conform to the European standard EN 15804.

On the basis of its more than 30 years of voluntary commitment, the IBU has set an industry standard that has now established itself in all areas of the entire construction industry, from products for building construction and underground engineering to building services components.

The IBU began its history in 1982 with the founding of the ‘Arbeitsgemeinschaft Umweltverträgliches Bauprodukt e. V.’, or AUB. The organisation was renamed in 2008, and since 2013, the IBU home office has been located in Berlin. The IBU’s more than 200 members elect the fifteen-member Board and the President, who is the public representative of the IBU and who provides guidance on strategic planning. The top-level expert body is the pro bono Advisory Board, which is responsible for appointing the independent third-party verifiers.

Structure of the IBU e.V.

Sustainable Construction Requires A Holistic Approach and Detailed Analysis

Closed systems and a waste-free economy: this is a vision that, within the concept of sustainability –  which has now become a political guiding principle –  is meant to become reality. The ‘three-pillar model of sustainability’ makes it clear that economics, ecology, and social factors all contribute equally to sustainable development. The concept that ecology plays an especially important role has long-since been accepted in the construction and real estate sector. In order to meet the requirements of sustainable construction and to have their buildings certified as sustainable, planners, investors, and property developers are increasingly taking environmental aspects into consideration in their choice of products.

In ecological terms, sustainable construction means taking a holistic view of each building, while analysing every building component. This is because each individual building product influences the ecological performance of the entire structure. For this reason, the IBU, in cooperation with construction and environmental authorities along with international standardisation institutes, has developed an EPD programme that is used by IBU member companies as the basis for creating EPDs for their building products. They thereby provide important information for assessing the ecological quality of a building – an essential component for the holistic assessment of building sustainability. This means that IBU members, as the declaration holders, voluntarily disclose comprehensive information about their products. The IBU is thus committed to a scientifically-based analysis of construction products and building components. This goes much further than just energy efficiency or CO2 reduction. The IBU’s EPD programme provides comprehensive life cycle assessments and an independent verification process.

Membership in the IBU Strengthens the Market Position of Construction Product Manufacturers

Manufacturers and associations in the building materials and building services industry who become IBU members thereby raise their profiles. They demonstrate their commitment to sustainability. By creating EPDs, they make it clear that they are taking initiative, since the detailed life cycle assessment that precedes EPD creation reveals potential for improvements to products in terms of their environmental impact. Process optimisation potential will also be identified, allowing EPD owners to further expand their sustainability efforts and strengthen their market position. As IBU members, they benefit from the fact that the IBU and its EPD programme, especially on account of the transparency it provides, enjoy a high level of acceptance by building certification systems.

Mitglieder

EPD Harmonisation Opens International Markets to Building Product Manufacturers

At both the global and the European level, the IBU is committed to cross-border recognition of EPDs, and works in cooperation with many European and non-European EPD programme operators. As initiator and founding member of the ECO Platform, an umbrella organisation of the individual national EPD programme operators, the IBU is involved in issues such as the harmonisation of EPDs on a European level, a project that began in 2013. This consists of the development of a uniform procedure and uniform standards based on existing European standards. Through mutual recognition, IBU members also have the ability to have their EPDs published in EPD programmes in other countries, making them available them to further markets. Conversely, the IBU may also publish externally-created EPDs.

Sachverständigenrat

The IBU: A Network and Competence Centre for Sustainable Construction

Sustainability is a popular topic these days. Often, however, the term is not used selectively, or can be inflationary, or may have been added only for advertising purposes. Public reporting on sustainability is often limited to topics such as energy efficiency, CO2 reduction, or the trend towards renewable raw materials. The IBU provides information and clarification. The environmental aspects of sustainability are multi-layered and complex. The IBU’s aim is to clearly show the potential for improvement that is particularly offered by the construction sector for a more conservational approach to environmental issues and the scarcity of resources. To achieve this, the IBU carries out intensive public relations activities and participates in networks that are involved with sustainability in the construction industry and that promote sustainable development.

The IBU has a broad-ranging network of experts and, in recent years, has increasingly developed into a competence centre for sustainable construction. This network includes the independent Advisory Board, whose members are experts from such areas as environmental and building authorities, construction companies, testing facilities, standardisation, science, and environmental associations. The IBU also maintains intensive exchanges with, among others, representatives of building certification systems and life cycle assessment experts.

The IBU Maintains Exchanges with German Ministries and Federal Institutions for Sustainability in Construction

The IBU maintains dialogue with German ministries and authorities, such as the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB) and the Federal Institute for Research on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development (BBSR), and participates in the Sustainable Building Roundtable. This body supports the BMUB in developing regulations for the sustainable construction of federal government buildings. The findings are included in such publications as the Guidelines for Sustainable Building. The IBU is also an active member of the Resource Efficiency in Construction Roundtable, thereby helping to shape the future development of sustainable and resource-efficient construction.

The IBU Works in Cooperation with Both German and International Building Certification Systems

In its partnership with the Assessment System for Sustainable Building (BNB) for federal buildings, the IBU is an active participant in the exchange between EPD programme operators and building certification systems. The IBU is a founding member of the non-profit German Sustainable Building Council (DGNB), which operates the DGNB system for private construction projects. IBU Managing Director Burkhart Lehmann is a member of the Construction Products Council there.  The IBU is also active on an international level, including its membership in the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) and the German Green Building Association (GGBA), and its role as the exclusive German partner of the USGBC and German offshoots of the LEED system. As an example, the IBU is providing support for the adaptation of the USGBC-issued LEED building certification system to European and German market conditions.

IBU – Institut Bauen und Umwelt e.V.

IBU – Institut Bauen und Umwelt e.V. 2018-01-25T11:50:07+00:00

Das Institut Bauen und Umwelt e. V. (IBU) fördert nachhaltiges Bauen

Die Bauindustrie bekennt sich zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung, die im Kern den generationsübergreifenden Erhalt von Leben für Mensch und Natur beinhaltet. Nachhaltigkeit im Gebäudesektor bedeutet, ökologische Herausforderungen unter Berücksichtigung ökonomischer und sozialer Aspekte zu meistern. Viele Akteure der Baubranche, die sich dieser Verantwortung freiwillig stellen, sind Bauprodukthersteller und Mitglieder im Institut Bauen und Umwelt e. V. — in Kurzform: IBU.

Mit mehr als 200 Unternehmen und Verbänden ist das IBU der größte Zusammenschluss von Herstellern der Baustoffindustrie, der sich für nachhaltiges Bauen stark macht. Das IBU betreibt ein branchenübergreifendes und unabhängiges Informationssystem für Bauprodukte und Baukomponenten und sorgt dafür, dass der ökologische Aspekt in die Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung von Gebäuden einfließen kann. Dabei wird keine Produktbewertung vorgenommen. Das IBU ist international einer der führenden Programmbetreiber für Umwelt-Produktdeklarationen (Environmental Product Declarations – kurz: EPDs) im Bauwesen und europaweit die führende Organisation, die Bauprodukte nach der europäischen Norm EN 15804 deklariert.

Dank ihres vor über 30 Jahren begonnenen freiwilligen Engagements verfügt das IBU über einen Industriestandard, der sich in allen Bereichen der gesamten Baubranche etabliert hat – von Hochbau- über Tiefbauprodukte bis hin zu Komponenten der technischen Gebäudeausrüstung.

Hervorgegangen ist das IBU aus der 1982 gegründeten Arbeitsgemeinschaft Umweltverträgliches Bauprodukt e. V. (AUB). Die Umbenennung erfolgte 2008 und seit 2013 befindet sich die Geschäftsstelle des IBU in Berlin. Die über 200 Mitglieder wählen den 15-köpfigen Vorstand und den Präsidenten, der das IBU in der Öffentlichkeit vertritt und bei strategischen Planungen berät. Die oberste fachliche Instanz ist der ehrenamtlich tätige Sachverständigenrat, der die Verifizierer als unabhängige Prüfer bestellt.

Struktur des IBU

Nachhaltiges Bauen braucht ganzheitliche Betrachtung und detaillierte Analyse

Geschlossene Kreisläufe und eine abfallfreie Wirtschaft – das ist eine Vision, die mit dem Konzept der Nachhaltigkeit, das zum politischen Leitprinzip geworden ist, Realität werden soll. Das sogenannte Drei-Säulen-Modell der Nachhaltigkeit verdeutlicht: Ökonomie, Ökologie und Soziales tragen gleichermaßen zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung bei. Dass der Ökologie eine besondere Bedeutung beigemessen wird, ist im Bau- und Immobiliensektor längst angekommen. Planer, Investoren und Bauträger berücksichtigen bei ihrer Produktauswahl zunehmend Umweltaspekte, um dem Anspruch an Nachhaltigkeit beim Bauen gerecht zu werden und ihre Bauwerke als nachhaltige Gebäude zertifizieren lassen zu können.  

Nachhaltig bauen im Sinne der Ökologie bedeutet, jedes Bauwerk ganzheitlich zu betrachten und jedes Bauteil zu analysieren. Denn jedes einzelne Bauprodukt beeinflusst die ökologische Performance des gesamten Bauwerks. Aus diesem Anlass hat das IBU in Zusammenarbeit mit Bau- und Umweltbehörden sowie internationalen Normungsinstituten ein EPD-Programm entwickelt, auf dessen Basis die IBU-Mitgliedsunternehmen EPDs für ihre Bauprodukte erstellen. Damit liefern sie wichtige Informationen für die Beurteilung der ökologischen Gebäudequalität, die im Rahmen der ganzheitlichen Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung von Bauwerken wesentlich sind. Das bedeutet: Als Deklarationsinhaber legen IBU-Mitglieder freiwillig umfassende Informationen zu ihren Produkten offen. Das IBU setzt sich damit für eine wissenschaftlich basierte Betrachtung von Bauprodukten und Baukomponenten ein. Dabei geht es um weit mehr als um Energieeffizienz und CO2-Reduktion. Das EPD-Programm des IBU steht für umfassende Ökobilanzen und einen unabhängigen Überprüfungsprozess.

Mitgliedschaft beim IBU stärkt Marktposition der Bauprodukthersteller

Hersteller und Verbände im Bereich der Baustoffindustrie und der Technischen Gebäudeausrüstung, die Mitglied beim IBU sind, schärfen damit ihr Profil. Sie zeigen, dass sie sich für Nachhaltigkeit engagieren. Mit der Erstellung von EPDs machen sie deutlich, dass sie Verantwortung übernehmen, denn anhand der detaillierten Ökobilanzierung, die der EPD-Erstellung vorausgeht, wird ersichtlich, wie Produkte in Bezug auf ihre Umweltwirkungen verbessert werden können. Darüber hinaus werden Potentiale zur Prozessoptimierung erkennbar, sodass EPD-Inhaber ihre Aktivitäten in Bezug auf Nachhaltigkeit weiter ausbauen und so ihre Marktposition stärken können. Als IBU-Mitglieder profitieren sie davon, dass das IBU mit seinem EPD-Programm aufgrund seines transparenten Verfahrens hohe Akzeptanz bei Gebäudezertifizierungssystemen genießt.

Mitglieder

Harmonisierung von EPDs eröffnet Bauproduktherstellern internationale Märkte   

Auf globaler und auf europäischer Ebene setzt sich das IBU für eine grenzübergreifende Anerkennung von EPDs ein und kooperiert mit vielen europäischen und nicht-europäischen EPD-Programmhaltern. Als Initiator und Gründungsmitglied der ECO Platform, einer Dachorganisation der einzelnen nationalen EPD-Programmhalter, arbeitet das IBU z. B. seit 2013 an der Harmonisierung von EPDs auf europäischer Ebene. Dabei geht es um die Erarbeitung eines einheitlichen Vorgehens und einheitlicher Standards auf Basis von Normen. Durch gegenseitige Anerkennungen können IBU-Mitglieder ihre EPDs auch über EPD-Programme anderer Länder veröffentlichen lassen und sie so für weitere Märkte zugänglich machen. Umgekehrt kann das IBU extern erstellte EPDs veröffentlichen.

Sachverständigenrat

Das IBU ist Netzwerker und Kompetenzzentrum für nachhaltiges Bauen

Nachhaltigkeit ist heutzutage populär. Allerdings wird der Begriff oftmals nicht trennscharf und bisweilen inflationär oder lediglich für Werbezwecke verwendet. Die öffentliche Berichterstattung zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit beschränkt sich häufig auf Themen wie Energieeffizienz, CO2-Reduktion oder den Trend zu nachwachsenden Rohstoffen. Das IBU informiert und klärt auf. Die ökologischen Aspekte der Nachhaltigkeit sind komplex und vielschichtig. Welche Verbesserungspotentiale insbesondere der Bausektor für einen schonenderen Umgang mit der Umwelt und den knapper werdenden Ressourcen bietet, will das IBU deutlich machen. Deshalb betreibt das IBU intensiv Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und beteiligt sich an Netzwerken, die sich mit der Nachhaltigkeit im Bauwesen befassen und nachhaltige Entwicklungen vorantreiben.

Das IBU verfügt über ein breitgefächertes Expertennetzwerk und hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren immer mehr zum Kompetenzzentrum für nachhaltiges Bauen entwickelt. Zu diesem Netzwerk gehört der unabhängige Sachverständigenrat mit Experten aus den Bereichen Umwelt- und Baubehörden, Bauausführung, Prüfeinrichtungen, Normung, Wissenschaft und Umweltverbänden. Darüber hinaus pflegt das IBU intensiven Austausch u. a. mit Vertretern von Gebäudezertifizierungssystemen und mit Ökobilanzexperten.

Das IBU im Austausch mit Ministerien und Institutionen des Bundes für Nachhaltigkeit beim Bauen

Das IBU ist im Dialog mit Ministerien und Behörden wie z. B. dem Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit (BMUB) und dem Bundesinstitut für Bau-, Stadt- und Raumforschung (BBSR) und engagiert sich in dem Gremium Runder Tisch Nachhaltiges Bauen. Dieser unterstützt das BMUB bei der Erarbeitung von Regelungen für das nachhaltige Bauen des Bundes. Die Erkenntnisse fließen u. a. in den Leitfaden Nachhaltiges Bauen ein. Auch beim Runden Tisch Ressourceneffizienz im Bauwesen ist das IBU aktives Mitglied und gestaltet so die Weiterentwicklung des nachhaltigen und ressourceneffizienten Bauwesens mit.

Das IBU kooperiert mit Gebäudezertifizierungssystemen in Deutschland und international

Als Kooperationspartner des Bewertungssystems Nachhaltiges Bauen (BNB) für Bundesbauten engagiert sich das IBU für den Austausch zwischen EPD-Programmhaltern und Gebäudezertifizierungssystemen. Das IBU ist Gründungsmitglied der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Nachhaltiges Bauen e.V., die das DGNB-System für private Bauten betreibt. Der IBU-Geschäftsführer Dr. Burkhart Lehmann ist dort im Bauproduktebeirat vertreten. Auch auf internationaler Ebene ist das IBU aktiv, z. B. als Mitglied im U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) und der German Green Building Association (GGBA), dem exklusiven Kooperationspartner der USGBC und deutschen Ableger des LEED-Systems. So begleitet das IBU die Anpassung des vom USGBC herausgegebenen Gebäudezertifizierungssystems LEED an die europäischen und deutschen Marktverhältnisse.